Biggest challenges on professional experience

As part of the week 9 learning path, we were asked to identify:

  1. the top 2 challenges/problems/mistakes you have faced or made on prior Professional Experiences.
  2. the top 2 fears/challenges you have about your EDC3100 Professional Experience.

Here are my answers:

  1. Two challenges that I faced on prior professional experiences were behaviour management and managing my uni assessments on top of what we were expected to do on professional experience.
  2. One fear I have about the EDC3100 professional experience is that I will get a mentor that is not passionate, caring or inspiring. I am also a little nervous about teaching at least 5 ICT-based lessons to enhance/transform student learning.

Let’s elaborate about number 2: the top 2 fears/challenges you have about your EDC3100 Professional Experience. Meeting my mentor is something I am nervous about before every prac because this experience is so valuable as a pre-service teacher and something I will learn from and remember for many many years to come. Mentors are very significant in shaping a pre-service teacher’s practice. This article makes a great statement: cooperating classroom teachers (mentors) and preservice teachers in the school context (mentees) are pivotal to education advancements. Preservice teachers are potential implementers of education reform. These future teachers implementation of reform measures will depend on two key educative processes, namely, university education and field experiences (practicum). The information I have just brought up explains why I am nervous about my mentor teacher. HOWEVER, it is important to note that no matter who we get as a mentor, it is important to respect and acknowledge their feedback, advice and suggestions. There is so much to learn from teachers who are working in the field. I am looking forward to working with my mentor and to be opened up to new ideas and challenged to continuously learn and improve my practices. I really value the mentor/mentee relationship and thrive off a mentor who facilitates, demonstrates and uses active listening skills with a broad/deep base of applied knowledge. I am hoping that I will be able to use my knowledge gained from this course so far to help with the implementation of the ICT-based lessons!

I have noticed a few people such as Chloe and tturner96 who like me, have been previously challenged with behaviour management whilst on prac. It’s nice to know you’re not alone especially when others face challenges in the same area.

Just doing a bit of reflection – probably the best things I have done in my previous pracs is from day one going in with an open mind, learning to be ok with making mistakes – acknowledging them and learning from them, using initiative in the classroom, being organised and making effort to form relationships with the students, teachers, other staff involved in the school and the families.

Till my next blog post,

Skye

Leave a comment